<   Back to Speakers page

Yang Kun

Yang Kun

Executive President
China Electricity Council


Yang Kun is currently serving as the Executive President of China Electricity Council. He also serves as the President of China Electric Power Construction Association, Chairman of China Electric Power Literature and Arts Association, and Chairman of China Power International Cooperation Union.

Yang Kun majored in thermal power engineering at North China Electric Power Institute and graduated in 1982. He then graduated from Beijing Graduate School of North China Electricity Institute with his master’s degree of power plant engineering in 1987. From 1995 to 2003, he served as Vice President of North China Electric Power University. From 2003 to 2013, he served at State Electricity Regulatory Commission and successively held the posts of Deputy Director General and Director General of Department of Policy and Regulation, Director General of Southern China Electricity Regulatory Bureau, Director General of Safety Supervision Bureau and Chief Engineer. From June 2013 to June 2015, he served as Chief Engineer of National Energy Administration.

Several research projects led by him had obtained a number of prizes at the national, provincial and ministerial level, including the second prize of National Prize for Progress in Science and Technology, prize of New Product of International Level and etc. He also served as Vice Chairman of Technical Committee of Power Plant Steam Turbine, Vice Chairman of Steam Turbine Committee of Chinese Society for Electrical Engineering, Vice Chairman of Noise and Vibration Control Society, and Editorial Board Member of Modern Electricity and Thermal Power Generation. He has published over 150 academic papers and was awarded the Special Allowance of the State Council in 1992.